Total newbie question--switching off electric water heater when HVAC comes on

I know next to nothing about home automation.  It seems like this should be simple to do yet I am having difficulty finding a solution.
My wife owns a bed and bath that has significant usage only about 3 days per month.  It does not have web access so solutions will have to be local network only.  
I want to be able to have the power to the 2 hot water heaters shut off anytime the HVAC unit kicks on.  The reason why is that the new "smart" meters installed by the utility use any peak 15 minute draw during the month to calculate a demand charge that applies for the whole month.  This has more than quadrupled the electric bill for this facility.
Currently this building is completely dumb.  I assume I will need a couple relays, or simple PLCs, a smart thermostat, and some type of controller but have no idea where to begin looking for this type of solution.  Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

I don't necessarily need a thermostat if something that monitors total house current power consumption could trigger switching off of water heaters over a certain KW rating.

The simple solution would be a 24V relay wired to the Y terminal and C terminal on the HVAC unit. The hot water heaters would be wired to the relay NC contacts. When the thermostat calls for AC the relay will open the connection turning off the hot water heaters.

OT? - where are you located? I'm trying to assess trends in demand charges and yours is exactly like mine - ie 15 min. 

What I do is run a 1.2kw element on the hot water that shuts down from 6pm-9pm when the solar panels are not generating anything and when the a/c is running. 

Obviously having solar panels changes the dynamic a lot. And having renters changes the dynamic a lot.