MCE 2005

JohnBullard

I am not an IP professional! Can someone explain in layman's terms what is meant by "Domain support has been removed" in MCE 2005 as it was included in MCE2004.

What would this mean to an end user with a home network, to have or not have domain support?

2. All of the MCE boxes I've seen to do not include a serial port. I would need a serial port to use my touch screen panel. Does MCE software support a serial port, provided the hardware mfg left a PCI slot open to plug a card in?

Thanks

1) A windows based domain allows you to manage user permissions in a central location, makes it easier to share files among systems, and if in a windows 2000 environment, you can apply policies, manage the software installs/updates on all the machines on the domain. Most home users do not have a need for this, I personally use them at home but I have many machines which require access to each other.

2) MCE machines are just regular PC's, so they should come with them unless you get one of the cheaper machines where the legacy hardware might have been removed. You could always use a USB->Serial converter if you had to.

John,
I would say that 99.5% of all home users never use a domain controller but rather use a workgroup (default configuration) for their home network.

Thanks electron and Rupp.

e, I was looking on BestBuys website, and neither the HP nor Sony MCE had serial ports listed.

What brand(s) MCE would be good?

I like the Medion machines, they are cheap, but loaded, Not sure if BestBuy has them the 2005 ones yet. I think the Sony's are probably the top of the line, followed by HP/Dell/Gateway.

Another question, does MCE support saving video as a MPEG 4 or only as MPEG 2 ?

(I'm about to get a headache trying to decide if I really want - ok I want, or need it, I think I need it)