Best mini PC for linux?

picta

I am looking to replace my windows based HA controller with a linux mini-server. I have a few R-Pis and they are nice, but too small to support my automation gear. My current PC supports 6 USB ports and 48 serial, so I will need something more powerful than a Pi with at least 6 USB ports, HDMI, ethernet, wifi and bluetooth. There are many options available today on the market, like this one:

http://www.qotom.net/goods-132-Q370P+Mini+PC.html

but it would be great to get a feedback from people who've had direct experience.

I have been using a Qotom mini Pc to run CQC for a couple of years now, it works fine for me. The only thing I use a Raspberry Pi for is to run Pi-hole.

Here have been using the Pine64 2Gb Arm computer running Ubuntu 16.04 64 bit server now for two years using a microSD card.

Today I would consider the Pine64 (old now) the best Arm based mini pc that will run Ubuntu Server.

The Pine64 with 2Gb of RAM runs circles around any RPi 1-2-3 mostly because it has 2Gb of RAM.

The RPi folks should have added RAM to the RPi3 rather than Wifi/Blue Tooth stuff. 

The RPi3 does make for a better KODI box than the Pine64 2Gb or the Rock64 4Gb computers.

I am not knocking the RPi as it is a great little device.

Works fine with my Digi stuff and remote Rpi with a zwave gpio card connected via a poe connection.

Waiting to update to the Rock64 with 4 Gb ram and 16 gb emmc card.

The Rock 64 is the same size as the RPi3 and has a optional wifi add.

Mfg moderators have promised the battery backed up hardware now for over a year with each hardware release.  

That said they are still selling last years hardware release.

Posted again on the Rock64 forum about RTC over here:

Rock64 RTC

Tested running xp on the rpi a month ago.  It worked but it was way too slow.  Thinking I can do this with the Rock64.  I am running a lite vb of windows server on the hs3pro box for hs3 sapi speech.