Newbie...Need some opinions to start

chimas16

Hi! I'm really new at this so I will need your oponion and comments so I can start. I haven't bought anything yet, and I really don't want to buy something that it will not be usefull for what I want. I've seen lots of different brands and I'm not sure at all which can be the best for me. Let me tell you what I would like to install so you guys can help me out:
I would like to start installing in my house lights that can be switched from my android phone and also maybe add switches to some appliances like TV and Ipod. I know this might be very easy but I really don't know what I have to buy to do all this.
Any suggestions?
Thanks a lot!

I would recommend sampling some X10, Insteon, UPB and Z-Wave switches and seeing which you like the best. You can also download free 30 day trial automation software to test with as well. I personally use HomeSeer (http://www.homeseer.com) and have a few X10 switches left, several Z-Wave switches/door locks and thermostats,etc as well as 5 Insteon switches and 7 UPB switches. HomeSeer controls all of these simultaneously. It's addictive but it takes some time and experimentation to see which protocol suits your needs the best. HomeSeer has an Apple site of software as well as Android as well.

Read all you can.
Consider what you want to do.
Then buy a few test pieces to play with.

Do not jump in feet first.

Thanks guys...one more question, will I need to buy something like Mi Casa Verde? Or just with buying the Z-wave switches will I be able to connect them to my router and then use my Android phone to use them?

Depends on the device - you'll need some sort of interface. For Z-Wave I'd probably recommend Mi Casa Verde; for Insteon, it'd be the ISY; and for UPB it'd be the Web Mountain RUC. Of course, the only one I know for sure is UPB since that's what I use; but the others are the controllers I see that seem to accomplish a nice scheduler/gateway/etc.