A message from Steve at Smarthome.

SteveL

Hi my name is Steve, I'm the National Sales & Training Manager for INSTEON at Smarthome. I have been an automation contractor and installer of these products for some time and for the last 2 ½ years I have been training dealer / installers on the INSTEON product line.

I have been following the threads here with interest and I would like to help clear up some information and lend a hand to those who need help. I would like to offer installation advice and troubleshooting tips for those that have had some troubles with their installs. I will not be answering developer protocol questions, but I can provide quick and efficient ways to install and program your INSTEON devices. I travel quite often for the company so I will not be monitoring the board on a regular basis but feel free to email me and I will do what I can to offer any support.

www.insteon.net is also a way to get in contact with me and our developer forum. We also post INSTEON training locations on this site. If you are not a Smarthome dealer and you would like to go to a training then plese contact me direct.

SteveL

Hi Steve and welcome. I am one of the people who is having trouble with upper memory locations in my PLM. (Local operation of devices in those memory locations does not get passed from the PLM to my ISY99i). I heard that a fix for this may have been found... can you confirm that this is in fact the case?

Hi Upstatemike,

There is some evidence of large installs that have hit the max point in the PLM. We do have PLM's with larger memory for those installs that go beyond the 417 links. There is a limitation even in the larger memory PLM after reaching a set number of links but we are always working to make the products better.
I do not have any more information i can give you at this point. We are working with Universal Devices to maximize it's potential.

SteveL

Hi Upstatemike,