LV Plates New Const. What type would you use

Bzncrewjr

Our electrician is starting his thing, so the time to start pulling my wire is coming soon.

There seems to be 2 schools to accomplish this.

1) Nail a plate to the stud and pull a wire down to it.   Let sheetrockers cut the hole.

2) Leave the wires attached to the stud.  Measure/record where it is.   Cut the hole after the sheetrockers are done and install a post LV plate.

I'm thinking #2 has less chance of them cutting my cables, but more work for me.   Maybe less wall labor costs too.

What say you gurus?

--Russ

photo_112-1718_install_a.jpg

616ufAUr09L._SL1244_.jpg

I am a newbie, so take this with a grain of salt.

For my remodel I did a combination of both.  I put in my own LV plates nailed to studs, but I kept the wire deep in the back of the stud cavity.

This way after the sheetrockers went crazy with their rotozip I could come along and reach through the wall plate and easily grab the wire.

I like the new work boxes/plates better as they are more stable, slightly bigger (NuVo keypads don't really fit in old work wall plates), and easier to keep parallel.

But I also kept my wires out of range of their rotozip so I wasn't too woried about them damaging a wire.

With either of those styles you're still going to have to secure the wires.  #2 gives you a little more flexibility, in that you can install wire that might never get used and thus never have a plate in a location it'd never been needed.  

One tip, take progressive pictures of EVERYTHING.  Do it RIGHT BEFORE the drywall is installed.  I can't tell you how many times I've gone back and reviewed the pictures I'd taken.  Seeing just where the stud/wire/plumbing is located before installing something else.

Walk each room with a digital camera and click, turn slightly, click, turn, repeat.  Get the whole room, including ALL walls, windows, floor and ceiling.