The most capable controller software?

MichaelT

I'm a software engineer with a passion for automation systems. I'm looking for a flexible, programmable, centralized HA system that I can program to do some kooky stuff.

Although, there's lots of things I want to do ... here's a list of the heavy lifting items:
- Control the lawn sprinkers based on forecast heat and yesterday's rain fall amounts
- Control outside lights based on motion sensors and ambient light
- Lights will be turned on and off with motion sensors
- HVAC will be set based on motion sensors (detect when we've gone to bed, when we get up, etc.)

I'm looking for a system that will allow me to program/script significant customizations. I looked into HomeSeer and it looked pretty capable, but the server hardware they offered was really outdated.

What control system would you recommend?

Thanks in advance!

Michael

Welcome to CT!

Check out the link in my sig, all software is listed, and it lets you filter the list based on your requirements.

HomeSeer, CQC and Elve are probably the most powerful options. You don't have to buy the Homeseer hardware, but that said, their HomeTroller unit is solid, and is very low power (hence the use of an Atom CPU, etc.), so there is no reason to offer a controller with an Intel i7 processor ;)

You need to think of our software controller as an 'appliance', not a personal desktop.

Personally, I run my HA software in a virtual machine, that's how little power these packages need.

Here is a review of the 2nd generation of the HomeTroller, in case you do want to buy some sort of approved hardware platform.