Simple automation question from a rookie - playing music automatically

Rrail

I have a question that I imagine is very simple to individuals experienced with home automation. However, I am brand new to the subject, and very much in the learning stages.

I understand the concept of "Scenes", and that I can set up a system to automatically unlock my front door and turn on my lights with a single selection. However, I would like to add a third element to that scene - I want it to start playing my music (from a location on my network.. a random song or one from a playlist would be great) as well. Through all of my research on these forums and via Google, I can not for the life of me figure out how this can be achieved. I imagine it would be accomplished through my HTPC, but I am not really sure the best way to go about it.

Is this possible? I apologize if this question is overly sophomoric - perhaps I am just not searching with the right terms.

A note: I have not yet begun to automate my home. I'm in the planning process right now, and have yet to finalize any plans for any certain system. Z-Wave is looking like the top choice for me at the moment, however.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

There is about 100 ways to skin this cat but without knowing the hardware and software your looking at its hard to explain.

Personally I use CQC to tie everything together. It controls a squeezebox that plays music throughout the house.

I understand. I guess the good thing is that I do not yet have any software or hardware - I'm still in the planning stage before I make my purchase.

The Squeezebox setup makes sense, and is perhaps what I will do. I am wondering if there is a way that doesn't require any additional hardware beyond a stereo/HTPC?