Controlling home theater lighting

FinanceBuzz

This is a great thread! I am a home automation newbie as well though I have been interested for many years. I have a degree in electrical engineering as well as a background in wireless telecom and data networking so I get the technological concept here. Where I am trying to wrap my head is the application and product side.

Here is where I am. I am setting a fairly small dedicated home theater room. Nothing extravagant, but I would like to be able to control the lighting in the room and integrate it with a remote so that when I start a movie the lights go down, the movie starts, the TV starts, etc. From a home automation standpoint, I am trying to figure out what technology and products I should use for the lighting control. The integration with the AV control is not even critical as I can live with a standalone control device for the lighting for the time being. While that is the extent of what I want to do now, I would eventually like to expand my control environment to include the entire house including lighting, outdoor sensors (still trying to figure what is available there), and thermostat. So I want to be sure that whatever I buy now to control the lights in this one room will integrate into a larger control environment down the road.